DF, PD ch.25

Alright guys, it’s Ju Hua again. Here’s the next chapter for Dragon Flies, Phoenix Dances! I couldn’t bear to leave you guys hanging but unfortunately this one is also a cliffhanger as well. I think this author just loves cliffhangers! I haven’t read ahead because I’m reading as I translate, so just like the rest of you guys I have no idea what’s going to happen next!

In this chapter I left a word in pinyin (romanized spelling for transliterating Chinese). In my opinion, it’d be nice to be able to translate everything into English, however the Chinese language has so many more expressions and specific addressing than the English language, and as a result English doesn’t carry their equivalent. Would you guys prefer if I left certain words in pinyin (like guniang?) or just translate it to something that fits the context, like Miss? Let me know your thoughts!

Also, thank you so much for all of the encouraging comments! Both Pu Er and I do read them, and it motivates us to keep going!

7 thoughts on “DF, PD ch.25

  1. It’s alright with me if your gonna use names/words in pinyin like ‘guniang’…creates more historical atmosphere… ^_^ you can just add at the end the meaning of the words….

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m just wondering if I should also list out any idioms with an explanation? I also don’t mind keeping the pinyin for certain names/words, but it does get tedious to read when almost a ton of terms are kept in pinyin. I remember reading another novel with a ton of pinyin, and while I know what they mean because I know the language, I can only imagine how hard it is for non-speakers who have to constantly look words up. Dilemma!

      Like

      • I’m actually non-speaker and just loves reading so I know basic words like guniang, jeijei, or the likes…. and I understand when a novel really have lots of words in pinyin like furen to yiniang to ce fei then laotaitai… 😛 often forget it when reading a lot of novels…

        I think It would really be good for difficult idioms to have an explanation… but whatever works for you is better or where your comfortable is… ^_^ I think translating is a tough job…. ^_^

        Liked by 3 people

  2. Kyaah!! This series! Someone picked it up! *hugs you* You’re amazing, my good people! Thanks ever so much for translating. ; A ;

    And this chapter. ‘ A ‘ Their cute interaction at the end! ❤ Honestly, they're at their best together when they forget the roles they're supposed to play. Just like how they were the cutest when they first "met" in the city by the gates, he the nameless swordsman and she the mischievous amnesiac.

    Like

  3. I’m with Yzrahc.
    I don’t mind pinyin now and then; actually I appreciate it cause I get to learn some Chinese words. You can just add a footnote on the chapter with a brief explanation what it means. This way, the meaning won’t be lost.

    Thankies so much for the hard work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment